We welcome scholars and practitioners from any discipline who wish to examine and explore the connections between movies and mental processes. Our members include motion picture historians, philosophers, experimental psychologists, social scientists, and filmmakers, from around the world.

Our annual membership fee is $80 for established professionals and $40 for students and Ph.D. candidates. (Our conference registration fees are discounted for students and Ph.D. candidates, as well.)

Benefits of Membership

  • Subscription of our award-winning journal, Projections: The Journal of Movies and Mind, including online access to all past issues.
  • The opportunity to present at our annual conference. (Anyone may attend, but membership is required to present.)
  • Recognition as a member of our Society, including the possibility of becoming a Fellow.



The Society for Cognitive Studies of the Moving Image is a not-for-profit corporation. Anyone is welcome to become a member, by payment of dues. All members are welcome to attend meetings of the Society at our annual conference.


Officers and Board

Stephen Prince, Virginia Tech

Past Presidents
Murray Smith, University of Kent
Carl Plantinga, Calvin College
David Bordwell, U. of Wisconsin-Madison, emeritus
Joe Anderson, U. of Central Arkansas, emeritus

Jeff Smith, U. of Wisconsin-Madison

Membership Director and Webmaster
Dirk Eitzen, Franklin & Marshall College

Editor of Projections
Ted Nannicelli, University of Queensland

Board of Directors
Barbara Anderson, Joe Anderson, Todd Berliner, David Bordwell, Margrethe Bruun Vaage, Dirk Eitzen, Kathrin Fahlenbrach, Barbara Flückiger, Ted Nannicelli, Carl Plantinga, Stephen Prince, Johannes Riis, Jeff Smith, Murray Smith, Tim Smith, Monika Suckfüll, Malcolm Turvey

Richard Allen, Barbara Anderson, Joe Anderson, Henry Bacon, András Bálint Kovács, Katalin Bálint, Daniel Barratt, Anne Bartsch, John Bateman, Maria Belodubrovskay, Todd Berliner, Robert Blanchet, David Bordwell, Margrethe Bruun Vaage, Noël Carroll, Tony Chemero, Gregory Currie, James Cutting, Jens Eder, Charles Eidsvik, Dirk Eitzen, William Evans, Kathrin Fahlenbrach, Dan Flory, Barbara Flückiger, Cynthia Freeland, Jonathan Frome, Jason Gendler, Andreas Gregersen, Torben Grodal, Lennard Højbjerg Hansen, Bruce Hutchinson, Joseph Kickasola, Miklos Kiss, Mette Kramer, Birger Langkjær, Dan Levin, Paisley Livingston, Benjamin Meade, Stuart Minnis, Wayne Munson, Ted Nannicelli, Karen Pearlman, Carl Plantinga, Stephen Prince, Johannes Riis, Sheena Rogers, Brendan Rooney, Rikke Schubart, Ben Singer, Mario Slugan, Jeffrey Smith, Murray Smith, Tim Smith, Monika Suckfüll, Paul Taberham, Ed Tan, Lazlo Tarnay, Aaron Taylor, Kristin Thompson, Pia Tikka, Yuri Tsivian, Malcolm Turvey, Casper Tybjerg, Peter Wuss, Jeffrey Zacks, Dolf Zillmann