The Society for Cognitive Studies of the Moving Image (SCSMI) is an interdisciplinary organization made up of scholars interested in cognitive, philosophical, aesthetic, neurophysiological, and evolutionary-psychological approaches to the analysis of film and other moving-image media. The society is on the forefront of studying how moving-image media shape and are shaped by human psychological activity.

From the Forum

CFP: SCMS 2017 in Chicago

By Mary Feld

The SCMS (Society for Cinema and Media Studies) 2017 conference will be held in Chicago, March 22 – 26. The CFP is now posted ( – deadline August 31), and the conference panel/workshop forum is now active ( – deadline … more . . .

Job opening: full-time permanent film lecturer at Georgia State University

By Mary Feld

Lecturer in Screenwriting and Film History The Department of Communication at Georgia State University in Atlanta invites applications for a lecturer in screenwriting and film history to start August 15, 2016 pending budgetary approval. The ideal candidate would be able … more . . .

Call for Papers

By Carl Plantinga

Below is an announcement I’m posting for Lisa Zunshine. –Carl Plantinga Members of the SCSMI are invited to submit abstracts to the first online conference to be hosted on the MLA Commons platform (for the cfp click here: ). … more . . .

Cfp “Consciousness”

By Michele Guerra

Dear all, Please find below the link to the Cfp of the Italian film journal “Fata Morgana” (as you enter the website, click on “Preview”). The new issue will be on “Consciousness”. Best, Michele